Category Archives: Credit law

Lehmann Brothers – Investors receive warranty certificates due Enlightenment breach damages

The u. a. for the banking competent XI. Civil Division of the Federal Court has dealt in two other procedures so, whether an advisory bank in connection with the recommendation of certificates of the Dutch subsidiary Lehman Brothers Treasury Co. B.V. (Issuer) der US-amerikanischen Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc. (The warranty) is obliged to pay damages. The focus of the decisions on the question, whether an advisory bank in the distribution of “Garantiezertifikaten” must inform unasked about special termination rights of the Issuer. The Federal Court has acknowledged such duty to inform.

In the process XI ZR 480/13 acquired by the plaintiff in November 2007 on the recommendation of an employee of the defendant bank 40 Piece of “Lehman Brothers warranty certificate on five bank title” nominal value of 39.328 €. In May 2008 he acquired on the recommendation of the same employee more 100 Piece Lehman certificates “LB 6 Year CatchUp note on six DAX stocks” nominal value of 100.000 €.

In the process XI ZR 169/13 acquired by the plaintiff in May 2008 on the recommendation of an employee of the same defendant bank “Lehman Brothers shares coupon bonds on six DAX values”, d. h. so-called Basket Certificates, the market value of 33.099 €. In the related product flyer it says u.a. “100% Capital at maturity”. Continue reading Lehmann Brothers – Investors receive warranty certificates due Enlightenment breach damages

More business law topics:

Banking (and Stock Exchange)

From the preparation of the Bank- advice and financing transactions, and we help to prevent and resolve problem areas. We are in the field of deposit and credit transactions in Secured Transactions, focusing on guarantees and surety law, Leasing, Factoring nebst all variants tätig. In relation to banks, we examine Terms, Kontokorrentverhältnisse as well as securities, Securities, Emissions- and investment transactions. We have always advised in investment law and also represented here aggrieved investors against investment companies at all levels of the economy worldwide.

More business law topics:

Lehmann Brothers – Anleger erhalten für Garantiezertifikate aufgrund Aufklärungspflichtverletzung Schadensersatz

Der u. a. für das Bankrecht zuständige XI. Zivilsenat des Bundesgerichtshofs hat sich in zwei weiteren Verfahren damit beschäftigt, ob eine beratende Bank im Zusammenhang mit der Empfehlung von Zertifikaten der niederländischen Tochtergesellschaft Lehman Brothers Treasury Co. B.V. (Emittentin) der US-amerikanischen Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc. (Garantin) zur Zahlung von Schadensersatz verpflichtet ist. Im Mittelpunkt der Entscheidungen stand die Frage, ob eine beratende Bank beim Vertrieb von “Garantiezertifikaten” über Sonderkündigungsrechte der Emittentin ungefragt aufzuklären hat. Der Bundesgerichtshof hat eine solche Aufklärungspflicht bejaht.

Im Verfahren XI ZR 480/13 erwarb der Kläger im November 2007 auf Empfehlung eines Mitarbeiters der beklagten Bank 40 Stück des “Lehman Brothers Garantiezertifikats auf fünf Bankentitel” zum Nennwert von 39.328 €. Im Mai 2008 erwarb er auf Empfehlung desselben Mitarbeiters weitere 100 Stück Lehman-Zertifikate “LB 6 Jahres CatchUp Note auf sechs DAX-Werte” zum Nennwert von 100.000 €.

Im Verfahren XI ZR 169/13 erwarb der Kläger im Mai 2008 auf Empfehlung eines Mitarbeiters derselben beklagten Bank “Lehman Brothers Aktien Kupon Anleihen auf sechs DAX Werte”, d. h. sogenannte Basketzertifikate, zum Kurswert von 33.099 €. In dem zugehörigen Produktflyer heißt es u.a. “100% Kapitalschutz am Laufzeitende”. “Lehmann Brothers – Anleger erhalten für Garantiezertifikate aufgrund Aufklärungspflichtverletzung Schadensersatz” weiterlesen

Bankrecht (und Börsenrecht)

Von der Vorbereitung der Bank- und Finanzierungsgeschäfte beraten und unterstützen wir die Vermeidung und Ausräumung von Problemfeldern. Dabei werden wir im Bereich der Einlagen und Kreditgeschäfte im Kreditsicherungsrecht, mit Schwerpunkt auf Bürgschaften und Bürgschaftsrecht, Leasing, Factoring nebst allen Varianten tätig. Im Verhältnis zu Banken prüfen wir Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen, Kontokorrentverhältnisse wie auch Wertpapier-, Effekten-, Emissions- und Investmentgeschäfte. Seit jeher beraten wir im Kapitalanlagerecht und vertreten hier auch geschädigte Investoren gegenüber Anlageunternehmen aller Wirtschaftsstufen weltweit.