Insolvency Law

Insolvency procedures Overview

Insolvency ability

Insolvency proceedings may be made of the assets of any natural and legal person of private law, each (z.B. Joint-stock company (AG), Partnership limited by shares (KGaA), Limited liability company (GmbH), unincorporated association) be opened.

Insolvency are eligible to continue

  • general partnership (OHG), Limited partnership (KG)
  • Civil-law (GbR)
  • European Economic Interest Grouping (EEIG)

Insolvency reasons

The opening of insolvency proceedings presupposes, that an opening reason is given.

The following reasons are possible insolvency:

  • Insolvency: It is available, if the debtor or the debtor is unable, to meet the due payment obligations.
  • Imminent insolvency: This reason for insolvency is only possible, if the debtor has applied even the opening of insolvency proceedings.
  • Indebtedness: Case of a legal person (For example, GmbH) is also the indebtedness is reason for insolvency. Indebtedness exists, if the debtor's assets no longer cover the existing liabilities. The valuation of the assets does not follow Liquidation- but after going concern basis, if the continuation of the company is more likely than.

Safeguards

The insolvency court may order until a decision on the application for insolvency on various security measures:

  • Appointment of a provisional insolvency administrator / liquidator or a provisional
  • Appointment of a provisional Sachwalterin / a provisional Walters.
  • Adopting a general prohibition available (Administrative- and dispose of the debtor's assets goes to the provisional insolvency administration over) or
  • Adoption of a restricted available ban (Binding of the dispositions of the debtor to the approval of the preliminary insolvency administration).
  • Ban or temporary suspension of measures of execution against the debtor / debtor.
  • Arrangement of a preliminary postal lock.
  • forcible demonstration of the debtor / debtor or detention.

Jurisdiction

Responsible for filing for insolvency is the Bankruptcy Court (District Court, the district in which a district court has its seat) in which the debtor or the debtor has his or her general jurisdiction.

Voidable

By Voidable can the trustee for the benefit of mass make such transfers of assets undo, disadvantage the creditors of a debtor's insolvency. In the insolvency proceedings, the insolvency administrator is entitled, to challenge adverse actions by the debtor to the bankruptcy estate. The challenge of prohibited transfers of assets to the detriment of creditors in the insolvency crisis before the opening of insolvency proceedings is one of the most important measures to increase the insolvency estate.

For opposing party: Keep calm, the liquidator the insolvency tell nothing not contact and without legal support, in particular provide no factual information about the contested claim without prior examination of the contestability. At first glance, rather impertinent information can provide important evidence of the insolvency, such as "I was happy, that I even got money " (->Aware of the crisis).

More business law topics:

Insolvenzrecht

Insolvenzverfahrensüberblick

Insolvenzfähigkeit

Ein Insolvenzverfahren kann über das Vermögen jeder natürlichen und jeder juristischen Person des Privatrechts (z.B. Aktiengesellschaft (AG), Kommanditgesellschaft auf Aktien (KGaA), Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung (GmbH), nicht rechtsfähiger Verein) eröffnet werden.

Insolvenzfähig sind weiterhin

  • offene Handelsgesellschaft (OHG), Kommanditgesellschaft (KG)
  • Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts (GbR)
  • Europäische Wirtschaftliche Interessenvereinigung (EWIV)

Insolvenzgründe

Die Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens setzt voraus, dass ein Eröffnungsgrund gegeben ist.

Folgende Insolvenzgründe sind möglich:

  • Zahlungsunfähigkeit: Sie liegt vor, wenn der Schuldner oder die Schuldnerin nicht in der Lage ist, die fälligen Zahlungspflichten zu erfüllen.
  • Drohende Zahlungsunfähigkeit: Dieser Insolvenzgrund ist nur dann möglich, wenn der Schuldner selbst die Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens beantragt hat.
  • Überschuldung: Bei einer juristischen Person (zum Beispiel GmbH) ist auch die Überschuldung ein Insolvenzgrund. Überschuldung liegt vor, wenn das Vermögen des Schuldners die bestehenden Verbindlichkeiten nicht mehr deckt. Die Bewertung des Vermögens erfolgt nicht nach Liquidations- sondern nach Fortführungswerten, wenn die Fortführung des Unternehmens überwiegend wahrscheinlich ist.

Sicherungsmaßnahmen

Das Insolvenzgericht kann bis zur Entscheidung über den Insolvenzantrag verschiedene Sicherungsmaßnahmen anordnen:

  • Bestellung einer vorläufigen Insolvenzverwalterin/eines vorläufigen Insolvenzverwalters oder
  • Bestellung einer vorläufigen Sachwalterin/eines vorläufigen Sachwalters.
  • Erlass eines allgemeinen Verfügungsverbots (Verwaltungs- und Verfügungsbefugnis über das Vermögen des Schuldners geht auf die vorläufige Insolvenzverwaltung über) oder
  • Erlass eines eingeschränkten Verfügungsverbots (Bindung der Verfügungen des Schuldners an die Zustimmung der vorläufigen Insolvenzverwaltung).
  • Untersagung oder einstweilige Einstellung von Maßnahmen der Zwangsvollstreckung gegen die Schuldnerin/den Schuldner.
  • Anordnung einer vorläufigen Postsperre.
  • zwangsweise Vorführung der Schuldnerin/des Schuldners oder Haft.

Zuständigkeit

Zuständig für den Insolvenzantrag ist das Insolvenzgericht (Amtsgericht, in dessen Bezirk ein Landgericht seinen Sitz hat) bei dem die Schuldnerin oder der Schuldner ihren oder seinen allgemeinen Gerichtsstand hat.

Insolvenzanfechtung

Durch Insolvenzanfechtung kann der Insolvenzverwalter zugunsten der Masse solche Vermögensverschiebungen rückgängig machen, die die Gläubiger eines Insolvenzschuldners benachteiligen. Im Insolvenzverfahren ist der Insolvenzverwalter berechtigt, für die Insolvenzmasse nachteilige Handlungen des Schuldners anzufechten. Die Anfechtung verbotener Vermögensverschiebungen zum Nachteil der Insolvenzgläubiger in der Krise vor der Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens ist eine der wichtigsten Maßnahmen zur Erhöhung der Insolvenzmasse.

Für Anfechtungsgegner gilt: Ruhe bewahren, den Insolvenzverwalter nicht kontaktieren und ohne anwaltliche Begleitung dem Insolvenzverwalter nichts mitteilen, insbesondere auch keine sachlichen Informationen über die angefochtene Forderung ohne vorherige Prüfung der Anfechtbarkeit übermitteln. Auf den ersten Blick eher unsachliche Informationen können für den Insolvenzverwalter wichtige Belege liefern, wie z.B.“Ich war froh, dass ich überhaupt noch Geld bekam” (->Kenntnis von der Krise).

Weitere wirtschaftsrechtliche Themen: